Papaya Moon
REVIEWS

Reviews for Suite Papaya and A Place in the Sun

Date of Stay
Mar 20, 2017

We stayed in Suite Papaya and enjoyed the view and the privacy. It was amazing how little you would hear of average every day noise, but the noises you did hear were so pleasant. The sounds of the trees, the wind, the birds, the ocean breeze we felt were things we do not experience in Chicago EVER! The amenities were amazing as the privacy of the pool was great. We loved the deck that surrounds the entire place and woke up in the mornings to beautiful sunrises. It is secluded from the busy downtown, but close enough to make the trip. My favorite part of our stay was the amazing beaches, the multiple cool restaurants and bars, but returning to our little private villa. It was so nice to shower, sit on the balcony, and enjoy the stars. We will return to Papaya Moon. There were no flaws and enjoyed all of the sea life, the wild donkeys, and the drinks on the deck!!! Everyone should get to experience this once in their life. Thank you to Sue and Ron for being such gracious hosts!!!! Carrie, Tim, and Mackenzie.

Date of Stay
Feb 6, 2017

Ron and Sue are such warm and affable hosts, they alone are reason to come to Papaya Suite or Place in the Sun, but they have beautiful suites with beautiful views that certainly are a draw as well. They’ve thought of everything their guests might need from snacks for the beach, to beach towels to well equipped kitchens. And, they’ve thought of what just makes for a pleasant stay– flowers in the window, hummingbird feeder to be viewed from the bed of the Papaya Suite. Their home and gardens are beautiful; we felt honored to share them.

Date of Stay
Feb 6, 2017

Ron and Sue are such warm and affable hosts, they alone are reason to come, but they have beautiful suites with beautiful views that certainly are a draw as well. They’ve thought of everything their guests might need from snacks for the beach, to beach towels to well equipped kitchens. And, they’ve thought of what just makes for a pleasant stay– flowers in the window, hummingbird feeder to be viewed from the bed of the Papaya Suite. Their home and gardens are beautiful; we felt honored to share it.

Date of Stay
Jan 31, 2017

Patrick and I arrived at Papaya moon early afternoon and was so impressed with the beautiful villa. Ron and Sue met us and we immediately knew they would be the perfect hosts! They had us come in to their upstairs part of the villa. Beautiful! When we entered our part downstairs we were thrilled at how beautiful and clean it was. The view overlooked the most exceptional parts of the island and bays. From then on, we knew it was going to be a fabulous vacation and it was! We were supplied with chairs, beach towels, cooler and anything you might need while there on vacation! The villa was just as described only better. We would recommend staying at this gorgeous villa. We look forward to coming back next year! Susan and Patrick

Date of Stay
Dec 29, 2016

I came for a week to work remotely and explore St John. Ron and Sue are the best hosts. They made me feel welcome from the minute we met. The place is even better than it looks in the photos. The views were stunning. I especially loved sitting in the hot tub after dark looking at the stars. The restaurants in Coral Bay are good and relatively easy to get to. It’s not hard to get anywhere on the island really. This place makes a great home base for exploring St John. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of Stay
Aug 11, 2012

We were amazed by the views, which just cannot be captured on film. Truly stunning. Our family of three enjoyed the secluded, private location and loved being surrounded by nature in this lush, tropical paradise. It was exactly the vacation spot we wanted. Our three-year-old had lots of room to play on the decks and found playmates in the lizards, hermit crabs, and caterpillars. We were also visited early one morning by the braying donkeys! The home had everything we needed and we were glad to find coolers, beach chairs, and beach towels. It was also a comfort to find basic kitchen needs and useful things in the pantry. We used the fan at night and didn’t miss air conditioning. And it was mid-August. How refreshing it was to be lulled to sleep by the sounds of nature rather than by the hum of an air conditioning unit. Papaya Moon is well situated nearby the little village of Coral Bay and is only a short drive from several beaches. We snorkeled every day, renting fins from Crabby’s. Salt Pond Bay, Maho, Haulover, Trunk, Cinnamon, Waterlemon, Hawksnest…we did it all! It was a dream come true to drive down from the mountaintop to a different gorgeous beach each day. The pool was refreshing and the hot tub was the perfect spot for late night star gazing. Although a few restaurants were closed for the season, we still enjoyed meals at Skinny Legs, Aqua Bistro, and the Donkey Diner. Brunch at Rhumb Lines in Cruz Bay on our last day was the perfect ending to a fabulous week. Don’t miss the hike out to Ram’s Head or the tranquility of Salt Pond Bay. Our hike and swim out to Waterlemon Cay was strenuous, but rewarded by a fantastic snorkel experience. It was the trip of a lifetime! Thanks for sharing your home with us!!!
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway.

Date of Stay
Nov 9, 2011

Papaya Moon was absolutely wonderful! Better than described–more beautiful, charming, comfortable and delightful than you could possible imagine. The pictures truly do not do this villa justice. So incredibly extravagant while also warm, welcoming and cozy. Impeccable—clean, astoundingly well-maintained. The owners are wonderful, good people that were extremely easy to work and communicate with. I would DEFINITELY recommend Papaya Moon to anyone—it is truly a special place and we had one of the best (if not) best vacations here. I wouldn’t hesitate to go St John and stay here again. We are a couple; kinda ‘earthy’ types—we are fine with simple comforts but enjoy the better things in life as well! Papaya Moon was perfect for us—luxurious but with charm and character. We loved coming home to Papaya Moon and watching the moon rise, star-gazing from the deck or hot tub. We never wanted to go to sleep and wanted to wake up as early as possible to enjoy this amazing place. Sometimes we didn’t even want to leave the house in the morning! The energy of the home is inspiring and peaceful. I practiced yoga on the deck in the morning and felt like I was in a heavenly paradise (I was!) Coral Bay is a wonderful area to stay—a more authentic experience in St. John and the drive to Cruz Bay is quick and easy. The villa had everything we could possibly need–fully stocked with kitchen appliances, coolers, etc. We hiked, we swam and snorkeled, we went on day trips to Cruz Bay and rented a dinghy and went on a boat trip to snorkel more. Food in Coral Bay was fantastic. Weather was fantastic. All in all, a wonderful experience. Stay at Papaya Moon—you will absolutely love it there!

Date of Stay
May 4, 2010

It was beyond our wildest dreams. The pictures do NOT do Papaya Moon justice. It is far prettier than they show. We found having a 4wd vehicle being very helpful, but then we also roamed all over the island. While it would sleep 4 having only a single bedroom would rule out 2 couples, but kids would work. — The decks spectacular, the views superb, and close to everything if you are there to enjoy the east end of the island. Cruz Bay was a drive but not out of the question. The privacy was fantastic, hot tub, pool, all fantastic. Our greeter was very helpful, and did a fine job. We DEFINATELY will be back!!!

Date of Stay
Apr 17, 2010

This is THE place you want to stay at if privacy and great views are what you are looking for. Papaya Moon is at the end of a paved road in Carolina Hills. The extra, extra large deck affords a 180 degree view including Tortola, Hurricane Hole and Coral Bay. We spent our mornings and evenings on the deck. At night, the music from Island Blues would drift up the mountain to entertain us. The house itself is charming – typical West Indies. The house is not air conditioned but as promised, the trade winds were more than adequate to cool the house. Sue and Ron welcomed us with a basket full of goodies and a bottle of wine. Also, we were celebrating my husband’s 60th birthday and there was a bottle of champagne to toast his birthday. The house was spotless and the kitchen was stocked with everything I needed to cook. The pool was great for cooling down after a day in the sun. The one potential issue was the bedroom mattress but, luckily, Ron and Sue had already ordered a new mattress (April 2010) and it arrived during our stay. One note – the sun rises early and comes beaming in the master bedroom window. Not a problem for me since I am an early riser (6 am), but anyone wanting to sleep in may have trouble. Papaya Moon holds fond memories for us and it will be a place we hope to revisit.

Date of Stay
Oct 12, 2009

First, the pictures that you have up here do NOT do the place justice. This house is so adorable and completely secluded with the most amazing view I have ever seen before. My husband and I LOVED our week at Papaya Moon. The location of the house couldn’t be any better. We went to quite a few different beaches, all were within 15 minutes or less drive from the house. The town that you can see from your balcony (no one can see you though!) is very cute and has some good restaurants to eat at. It was a perfect honeymoon! Thank you Ron and Sue!

Date of Stay
May 31, 2005

Sue and Ron Thanks for the accommodations. We had a great time! Your House is located on the best part of the Island. The best part about our stay was the privacy we enjoyed at papaya moon. The view from the Deck is amazing! Thanks again and hope to hear from you soon. Regards Scott Morris Kelly Bell